The U.S. Department of Education contracts with eight agencies to service federal student loans. These servicers will collect your payments and will advise you on your best repayment plans.

The department tries to give each servicer enough loans to make it worth the agency’s while to provide servicing. That means that the department may transfer your loans to a different servicer.

Visit the or website to find out more about servicers.